The Next Chapter (A little more About Me)

Hey all! I hope your day has been wonderful! I’ve been up since 4:30am (not by choice) but surprisingly I’m not feeling too exhausted yet. The bonus to waking up so early was being able to see a beautiful sunrise. I am a total night owl who loathes early mornings, so I rarely witness the suns ascent in the sky. I’m either asleep or driving to my part time nanny job when they happen.  So this was a pretty cool start to my day!

20170510_073109

It’s been a while, there’s a lot going on, and I figured it was past time to write another blog post about the next chapter/new beginnings/future!

School

Graduation-cap-graduation-clip-art-cap-free-clipart-images-3

I’m finishing up my last semester at college for my Certificate in Early Childhood Education. I had one final exam last night, and have my last final this evening! I really enjoyed going to school this time around. I had graduated in 2008 with my Associate’s Degree in General Studies. While it helped me earn a little extra at my past jobs, it was not job specific.

I have always struggled with the question “What do you want to be when you grow up?” I have never known. I have changed my mind every year since childhood. I remember my mom had gotten me this little book where you fill in stats and info each year in grade school. One year I wanted to be a dancer, one year a teacher, one year a marine biologist…you get the idea. I have never been able to pinpoint what exactly I should be doing. When I first started college in 2002 I wanted to be in Music Recording Technology. Not so good with technical stuff. Then it was Psychology. But I wasn’t up for languages so I ended up settling on a General Studies degree. (basically undecided)

happy-kid-clipart-kid_row

This time around what guided my choice to study Early Childhood Ed., was the importance of finding a job where I could still be there for my toddler. With this certificate, I can either work for a child care center (and have my daughter attend the same center) or open my own family child care so I will be home with her. My goal in either option is being a part of my daughter’s growth and development. I know this is not an option for every mom, and I feel for those that want to be there and just can’t. That’s why this is so important to me to get into and make it happen. I’m starting to look into child care centers right now, because our house is not really ‘kid-proof’ for watching others children. Boo.

Side Biz

Free-clipart-sewing-machine

On the other hand, I have always had a love of sewing. I have been making it more of a priority. Although it is just a side business, it is something I enjoy. I wouldn’t be upset if I could make sufficient money through sewing. 😉 I have been doing my research this year and learning so much about being an entrepreneur, or Mompreneur, as it were. I’m happy to share that Collins Celtic Crafts is a registered Small Business in West Virginia. I’m working on making the funds to keep supporting and growing my business. I’d love to get my website up and running, as well as an email list-but at this point it’s slow going.

Something I’m excited about is that I will have a table at my first Festival next month! There is a Homestead Fest happening local to me, and I am really looking forward to the event. I realize I have a pretty narrow niche with making historical costumes, so with the upcoming festival I am working on some additional items to sell. It’s been interesting sewing some new things! I can’t wait to share some of the finished products with everyone!!

Where I Am Going

*Ideally* with this next chapter of my life, I will successfully have a job in child care to be a part of my little one’s early years, and also propel my side sewing business with Collins Celtic Crafts. Wish me luck!

I love kids and I love to create. I’m feeling pretty stoked to have remained interested enough to pursue these fields and I am keeping the faith that it’ll all work out for a while!

20170510_073011

What about you??

So let me hear from you! Have you always known what you wanted to do? Or have you struggled like I have? What are you most passionate about these days?

 

