Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

The factual history of the day and the traditions celebrated around the world in modern times are pretty different, but however you celebrate, have fun and be safe!

I had high hopes to do another Irish recipe today, but with several events going on in our lives this week I did not have a chance to do the prep work and make a meal. I plan to give it a shot over the weekend, so stay tuned!

In honor of today, I wanted to share a few photos from our Honeymoon back in 2013. We were blessed with a trip to Ireland for 2 weeks. It was amazing! I had been once with my sister in 2003, my husband had never been. It was so much fun to go with him and see some new places, and this time I was old enough to drink! Always a bonus.

We started off on the East coast in Dublin, did a self-drive tour along the South and West, and returned to Dublin to fly home.

One of the most important stops was at the Guinness brewery and storehouse!

Throughout our trip we enjoyed the beautiful countryside, mild temperatures, gorgeous castle ruins, and the friendly natives. (Truly. Most people say that about wherever they travel, but the people we met were pretty awesome.) One elderly man in a pub in Ennis offered to sell us his home that included a sheep farm. Don’t think for a second we wouldn’t have taken him up on the offer if we could afford it!!

The traditional music was one of the best parts. You can find locals playing instruments in almost every Traditional Pub, on any given night.

There is nothing like walking into a dimly lit pub, sitting in a cozy booth, hearing some live traditional Irish folk music, and enjoying a pint of your favorite beer or cider.

Ireland has a very ancient history, there is so much to learn and see and do. I cannot wait until we can take our daughter for a trip one day! Going back is definitely on the bucket list.

IMG_3547web

 

In closing,

“May the road rise up to meet you.

May the wind be always at your back.

May the sun shine warm upon your face;

The rains fall soft upon your fields and until we meet again,

May God hold you in the palm of His hand.”

-Gaelic Blessing

I’ll have a pint for you tonight!

Slainte!

IMG_3587web

Let me know if you would be interested in hearing more about our visit to Ireland! I may decide to make some future blog posts on different places we experienced. Comment below!

