img_20170211_200423_757

(All images in this post belong to Brianne Collins)

I LOVE cookies. They’re small, quick to grab as a snack, oh and it helps that they’re usually pretty tasty.

I know, so NOT healthy to consume in large quantities. But one or two is totally fine! I try not to overdo it like I did as a teenager, now that I am increasing in age and my metabolism isn’t what it used to be….ugh.

I belong in a cool group on Facebook, called The Art of Homemaking. The group accepts women and men looking at learning or refreshing their homemaking skills. Right before the holidays I was on a quest to gain some new cookie recipe ideas from real people, who actually make and eat them. It’s one thing to just do a web search, but another to find out what others are making and enjoying! I asked the folks in the group for some recipes.

I got several great new cookie recipes to try-of course the holidays happened, life happened, and I got distracted.  So I have not tried making any new cookies up until this point. Yesterday I started with the recipe that I actually had all of the ingredients on hand for, Mexican Wedding Cake cookies.

It is thankfully a very easy recipe, and doesn’t require too much effort. My daughter of course kept falling down or crying for me to entertain her as I was mixing the ingredients, so I had to be the mean mom and (mostly) ignore her until I threw the dough in the refrigerator. It really didn’t take more than a few minutes to mix! Once my dough was chilled, I balled up the dough and threw the cookies in the oven.

20170211_180654

10 minutes later-I took out the cookies, waiting about a minute before rolling in the powdered sugar.  Then put them on a cooling rack.

20170211_195557

My husband was so excited for these cookies he didn’t even wait for them to totally cool down. According to him, even if they burn your mouth, they are still super delicious.  I waited a little longer before trying one, and they are melt-in-your mouth good. So awesome! If you haven’t made these before, I totally recommend them!

RECIPE for Mexican Wedding Cake Cookies (passed to me by Alyson Allgood)

Ingredients:

1 C. Softened butter
1/2 C. Powdered sugar
1 tsp. Vanilla
2 1/4 C. Flour
1/4 tsp. Salt
Extra powdered sugar for rolling baked cookies in

Directions:

Cream butter and sugar, add other ingredients, chill, roll into balls and bake at 400 for 10 min. Roll baked cookies in powdered sugar while still warm. Recipe makes approx. 36.

Enjoy!

Let me know if you try these-leave your comments below!

